Please read this information prior to registering -- Driver Ed Distance Learning Information Offered throughout the school year and summer by Brainerd Public Schools Community Education Taught by college-trained Department of Education certified instructors. Let our Brainerd teachers help you meet the State Driver Education requirements! To complete the classroom portion of the program DURING THE SCHOOL YEAR, students will meet three times a week; Mondays, Tuesdays, and Thursdays for three hours each day. Students registered for one of our SUMMER SESSIONS will meet five times a week; Monday through Friday for three hours each day. Attendance each day is mandatory to gain the 30 hours of classroom training which is required by state law! If available, Community Education may provide a separate testing opportunity at the end of the classroom experience where a State Examiner from the Minnesota Department of Public Safety will administer the written test required for a driver's permit. This will be communicated during each classroom session and will take place at a location communicated by the classroom instructor. Students must be 15 years old and provide proper identification specified in the Minnesota Driver’s Manual. The next five sessions will be on the simulator. All simulator classes are 1.5 hours except for the last class which is two hours long. *Missed simulation classes result in the need for extra driving time to meet state requirements. If one class is missed, the student must pay for 1/2 hour of extra on-street driving at the cost of $23 in order to meet the requirements. Any remaining balance or additional charges incurred after the first date of the class must be paid by cash or credit card; no checks will be accepted. **Students will be allowed to register for behind the wheel dates at the end of simulation or drive at a later date. To ensure that this driver's education program is safe and appropriate, please indicate on the registration form whether the student has any special needs or requires any accommodations to be successful in this program. Class size is limited, so register early! Note Policy Change! In order to be reimbursed for canceling a class or to be moved to another section, you must notify the Community Education office at least seven business days prior to the start of class. After completing 30 hours of classroom, the student will spend eight hours in the simulator. Behind the wheel dates are made by appointment during the school year (an instructor will call). Most people will be done driving 3-6 weeks after simulation unless they choose to wait. Students will complete the entire course within one year of their first classroom session. A $60 fee will be assessed to those waiting longer than a year. Anyone waiting 18 months or longer will pay $90 and $5 per month thereafter. After eight hours of simulation, four hours of behind the wheel are required. However, whenever possible, students will be scheduled to drive with a driving partner and will spend half of their eight in-car hours observing and the other half driving. Students who cancel or wish to move to another section with less than seven business days notice, prior to the class start date will forfeit $115 of their tuition. If a student withdraws from the program after beginning classroom they will forfeit $115 of their tuition. If a student withdraws from the program after beginning simulation, $205 will be forfeited. Students who don't show up for scheduled behind the wheel driving appointments will be charged $37. Cancellations must be made at least 24 hours before the driving is scheduled. This agreement/contract constitutes an agreement/contract between the program and the student/parent and no verbal statements or promises will be recognized. NOTE: The 90-minute parent course we offer for the primary driving supervisor will be free of charge to parents whose student's tuitions are paid in full. More information will be available at a later date.
Learn something new, connect with others in the community, stimulate your creativity or improve your health. Adult Enrichment offers a variety of fee-based classes and activities designed for adults of every age.
Emergency Childcare for professionals working for Tier 1 employees identified by the state of Minnesota.
Early-Age Care/Pre-K Program - serving children 4 & 5 years of age
PreK Plus Childcare: Providing Wrap Around, Extended Day, and Non School Day Childcare for students enrolled in an Early Childhood class.
Fun 'N' Friends is a child care program for students in kindergarten through 8th grade
We have a variety of programs for preschoolers aged 2 1/2 to 5 years at 3 locations: the new Warrior Early Learning Center, Nisswa Elementary School and Washington Educational Services Building.
Youth develop life-long interests, skills and knowledge through sports, performing and visual arts, academics, special interest clubs, outdoor educational experiences and many more programs.
Child Only classes provide children opportunities to explore learning in an ECFE classroom setting independently.
ECFE offers many special events throughout the year for families with birth-5 yr olds.
Time Together Classes provide weekly time for parents/guardians and their children birth-5 years old.