Skip to content

1 Result

  • Driver Ed Parent Course

    Due to COVID-19 restrictions this course will be offered on-line through Google Meets. To participate you will need to have access to the Google Meets App. and be present for the entire 90-minute presentation. Please register for the class on the Community Education website. After you register, we will send you an invite to the Google Meet with instructions. A primary driving supervisor (usually a parent) will be responsible for supervising a majority of the teen’s driving. The State of Minnesota requires all driver education programs to offer a 90-minute parental course for the primary driving supervisor covering GDL info, safety risks of teen drivers, adult influence on the teens, etc., This course will be covered by student tuition at NO EXTRA CHARGE. If your son or daughter did not take the driver education program through Brainerd Community Education, the cost is $25. Primary driving supervisors must keep track of dates and driving times on a MN State Driving Log Sheet. If the primary driving supervisor completes the 90-minute parent course, 40 hours must be completed on the log and 15 of these must be night driving. If the primary driving supervisor chooses not to complete the 90-minute parent course, the driving log must then verify 50 hours of driving, with 15 hours at night. Our 90-minute parent class will help you to know your responsibilities and to understand all of the graduated driver's license laws. A decision must be made by parents about who will be the primary driving supervisor. This is the person who will do most of the 40 or 50 hours of required driving practice. This is the person who should attend our 90-minute parent class. A State of Minnesota Certificate of Completion will be presented to parents who register for and complete the 90-minute parent course. Any parent who logs less than 50 hours of driving with their son or daughter must show this certificate before the student will be allowed to take the driver's test. Student tuition money must be paid in full in order to register. Any questions please contact: Greg Swenson Drivers Education Coordinator Brainerd Community Education 218-820-4882